Oklahoma’s gateway to humanities education, community conversation, and cultural experiences.

Lincoln Essay Contest Winners Honored

Lincoln Essay Contest Winners Honored

May 2, 2011
Contact: Traci Jinkens, Marketing and Development Director
Oklahoma Humanities Council
(405) 235-0280 • [email protected]

** Digital images available by email **


OKLAHOMA CITY, OK — The Oklahoma Humanities Council (OHC) honored winners of its 2011 Lincoln Essay Contest at a reception at the Oklahoma History Center on April 9. The annual contest was sponsored with support from BancFirst; Pottawatomie Telephone Company; and Sonic, America’s Drive-In. Panera Bread provided cookies for the reception.

Senator Clark Jolley was the featured speaker and discussed how history provides wisdom for today.Using Abraham Lincoln’s statement, “Fellow citizens, we cannot escape history,” Senator Jolley encouraged students to take responsibility for decisions they make and to learn from their own history as well as that of great men like Lincoln.

First place winners received a cash prize of $200 and their teachers received a $250 classroom grant. Second place winners received $150 and third place winners received $100. “More than 500 students competed in this year’s contest,” said OHC Program Officer Manda Overturf. “We congratulate all the students and teachers who took on this year’s challenging essay and drawing topics.”

Becky Rickard, Director of Archives and Administration for Sonic Corporation, presented Sonic gift cards to all the contest winners. This year’s winning students include:

Kindergarten through 1st Grade (Drawing category):
1st Place - Thomas Buchanan, Virginia Smith Elementary, Harrah
2nd Place - Makenzie McIntosh, Eufaula Elementary School
3rd Place - Luke Holman, Eufaula Elementary School

2nd through 3rd Grade (Drawing category):
1st Place - Nicole Childers, South Rock Creek Elementary, Shawnee
2nd Place - Dawson Arnett, South Rock Creek Elementary, Shawnee
3rd Place - Koy Harley, Central Elementary School, Idabel

4th through 6th Grade (Essay category):
1st Place - Jace Wallace, Elmore City-Pernell Elementary School
2nd Place - Mallorie Lane, Choctaw Middle School
3rd Place - Zach Pratt, Lincoln Elementary, Ardmore

7th through 9th Grade (Essay category):
1st Place - Kylie Trower, Owasso 8th Grade Center
2nd Place - Derik Daubenspeck, Cache Middle School
3rd Place - Jackie Marquez, Owasso 8th Grade Center

10th through 12th Grade (Essay category):
1st Place - Aileen Barton, Latta High School, Ada
2nd Place - Taylor Barrett, Lawton High School
3rd Place - Chendria Person, Lawton High School

About the Oklahoma Humanities Council

The Oklahoma Humanities Council is an independent, nonprofit organization whose mission is to provide meaningful public engagement with the humanities—disciplines such as history, literature, film studies, art criticism, and philosophy. As the state partner for the National Endowment for the Humanities, OHC provides teacher institutes, Smithsonian exhibits, reading groups, and other cultural opportunities for Oklahomans of all ages. With a focus on K-12 education and community building, OHC engages people in their own communities, stimulating discussion and helping them explore the wider world of human experience.

##### End #####